Who We Are

cropped-8-09-80-gr-002__gr14275.jpgThe South Bay 350 Climate Action Group was organized in June of 2009 by a coalition of environmental and community organizations, local businesses, city, county, state and federal elected officials, agencies and cities.The Group came together to plan and produce the South Bay of Los Angeles’ participation in 350.org’s International Day of Climate Action.  

South Bay 350 Climate Action Group also proudly organized the community to become vibrant and active participants in 350.org’s 10-10-10 Global Work Day and 2011’s Moving Planet.  

Today a revitalized South Bay 350 Climate Action Group is a coalition of families, businesses, community organizations, environmental groups, elected officials and staff working together to address the impacts of climate change and our responses to them in order to preserve and protect our coastal home.

We have been integral in helping to create the Hermosa Beach Carbon Neutral City initiative, the creation of the South Bay Bicycle Coalition, the Manhattan Beach MB2025 vision for 100% renewable energy by 2025, and the new South Bay Community Choice Power initiative.

Our driving mission is to help facilitate the rapid transition from fossil fuels to 100% renewable energy.

International Day of Climate Change Action

The 2009 South Bay 350 Coalition 

1.  City of Manhattan Beach – Sona Kalapura, City Environmental Programs Manager

2.  South Bay Cities Council of Governments – Jackie Bacharach, Executive Director

3.  L.A. County Supervisor Don Knabe – Steve Napolitano, Deputy to Supervisor

4.  L.A. County Supervisor Mark Ridley‐Thomas – Karly Katona, Sustainability Deputy

5.  Congresswoman Jane Harman – Diane Moss, Environmental Deputy

6.  State Senator Jenny Oropeza – Sharon Weissman, Chief of Staff

7.  Greenpeace (Los Angeles Chapter) – Jenny Binstock, Southern California Field Organizer

8.   Surfrider Foundation – Joe Geever, California Coordinator

9.   Heal the Bay – Saira Gandhi, Volunteer & Internships Coordinator

10.  OxFam America – John Dolan, Regional Advocacy Lead‐ Los Angeles

11.  EcoMedia – Janice Sakamoto, Government Relations & Events

12.  South Bay Environmental Services Center – Marilyn Lyon, Program Manager

13.  League of Women Voters of the Beach Cities– Maggie Wilkinson, Natural Resources Chair

14.  VOICE (Volunteers and Organizations Improving the Community’s Environment) – Kaye Gagnon, President

15.  PV/South Bay Audubon Society – Ollie Corker, Board of Directors

16.  Waste Management, Inc. – Vickie Wippel, Community Relations Manager

17.  EPOS Inc. (Print & Web Design Studio) ‐ Gabrielle Raumberger, Executive Creative Director

18.  Urban Semillas – Miguel Luna, Executive Director

19.  Environmental Priorities Network – Lillian Light, President

20.  TeachingGreen, Kathleen Jacecko, Founder/Director

21.  Tree Musketeers – Adam Gerard, President/Board of Directors

22.  Grades of Green ‐ Suzanne Kretschmer, President

23.  Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition ‐ Juliet Marshal, Volunteer/ Membership Coordinator

24.  Friends of Madrona Marsh – Bill Arrowsmith, President

25.  Torrance Democratic Club – Rick Wagner, President

26.  Beach Cities Democratic Club – Ray Waters, Past President

27.  Palos Verdes Peninsula Democratic Club ‐ Hans Grellmann, Vice President

28.  Pacific Unitarian Church – Bill Unger, Chairman, Social Justice Committee

29.  Citizens for Global Solutions – Becky Tan, Manhattan Beach Chapter Leader

30.  Alliance for Climate Education ‐ Ethan Burke, President

31.  Citizens Climate Lobby ‐ Efaon Cobb, Director of Community Outreach

32.  GRID Alternatives – Kevin Smith, Volunteer and Training Associate

33.  Plug-In America – Dency Nelson, Founding Member

34.  City of Hermosa Beach – Michael DiVirgilio, Mayor Pro Tem,

35.  City of Torrance – Cliff Numark, Councilman

36.  City of Redondo Beach – Mike Gin, Mayor

37.  Democratic Action Center – Tony Hale, Executive Director

38   California Assemblyman Ted Lieu, 53rd District

39.  South Coast Interfaith Council, Jane Affonso, Board Member

40.  Compassion Over Killing – Devin Murphy, Volunteer Outreach Coordinator 

41.   St. Cross By-the-Sea Episcopal Church, Peace & Justice Committee

42.  Pacific Unitarian Church, Green Sanctuary Committee

43.  Environmental Caucus of the California Democratic Party

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: